Stand Up and Take Action Against Poverty!

Today I participated in a global event to promote the awareness and eradication of poverty through the MIllennium Development Goals. I spent the last couple months helping organize and promote this event throughout Portland and the Portland State University campus. People from the community came to learn more about the Millennium Development Goals, take action, meet organizations working towards these goals, hear wonderful musicians, see great performances, eat food and stand up against poverty! Also, my Chiapas capstone class debuted our final DVD, and I displayed an accompanying photo exhibit on women’s empowerment through development.

It was a great day. The rain wasn’t too much of a deterrent, and our video was a success! Thanks for all your support for my Chiapas video project and my photo exhibit. I couldn’t have done it without you. I’ll soon have a copy of the Chiapas DVD to show you, but for now, here are some photos from today’s event:

Leave a Reply

